more from
577 Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Exclusive First Digipak Disc Edition of 100

    Includes unlimited streaming of Berliner Quartette via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    edition of 50 
    Purchasable with gift card

      $16 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more




As the world tentatively emerged from the pandemic in the summer of 2020, under the strict impositions of COVID regulations, Berlin-based Takatsuki Trio Quartett celebrated by organizing a monthly concert series at Kühlspot Social Club in Berlin. The Takatsuki Trio Quartett is comprised of three core members, Rieko Okuda (Piano, Voice), Antti Virtaranta (Bass) and Joshua Weitzel (Guitar, Shamisen) but they exclusively play as a larger ensemble, inviting other musicians to lend energy to their improvisational dynamic. Playing under the name, the “Berliner Quartette,” this album documents their performances with two influential figures in the German improvised music community. The first track, an experimental 30-minute collaboration with Axel Dörner (Trumpet) makes space for Dorner’s bold command of his instrument alongside the track’s other avant-garde components. It gives way to the second track featuring Tobias Delius (Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet), an upbeat reprise with warm swingtime melodies and competing tensions. These short experimental projects precede a larger collaboration between the Takatsuki Trio Quartett and Silke Eberhard, available on 577 Records on November 5. Berliner Quartette will be released in CD and digital editions on October 16, 2021.


released October 16, 2021

Tobias Delius – Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet

Axel Dörner - Trumpet

Rieko Okuda – Piano, Voice

Antti Virtaranta – Double Bass

Joshua Weitzel – Guitar, Shamisen

Recorded on June 25 (track 2) and September 24 (track 1), 2020 by Antti Virtaranta at Kühlspot Social Club, Berlin
Mixed and mastered by Antti Virtaranta

All music by Tobias Delius (BUMA/STEMRA), Axel Dörner (GEMA), Rieko Okuda (GEMA), Antti Virtaranta, Joshua Weitzel (GEMA)

Artwork by Christoph Kühl
Album design by Mark Smith

Orbit577 is part of 577 Records
Brooklyn, New York
©+℗ 2021


all rights reserved



Orbit577 New York, New York

This is the latest offshoot of 577 Records dedicated to showcasing a catalog of digital albums

contact / help

Contact Orbit577

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Berliner Quartette, you may also like: